Saint Mildred Chapel
Saint Mildred (Mildryth) Chapel
This chapel rebuilt in 1702, in yellow brick, is considered as one of the most beautiful in Flanders, constructed at the foot of Merckeghem hill, near a stream fed by a spring with miraculous virtues. This place of worship owes its existence to Mildred's stay, Anglo-Saxon saint who lived here, in the 7th century.
Mildred, a Kentish princess is sent to the Abbey of Chelles to do her novitiate. Having refused the marriage proposal of the Abbess's nephew, she is locked up by the latter in a bakehouse. Having fled with a companion, she arrived at Millam and healed the inhabitants affected by the Marsh fever. Back to England, she entered the convent founded by her mother.
In 1780, the chapel bought six paintings by PIETERS artist from Dunkerque, which retrace the life of the Saint.
The Saint is prayed against fevers, but also by pregnant women or those who wish to have a child.
Hiking trails allow you to discover this chapel full of charm.
Chemin de Sainte-Mulders
Voie communale 15
Lat : 50.8483Lng : 2.27186